PCB making advice please

Has anyone made a home PCB using a 14 x 14 mm 100 pin QFP, I’ve just spent 4 days laying it all out, I’ve now printed it out to look at and I’m beginning to doubt that I can etch it. Basically I am looking for someone to tell me it’s possible to give me a bit of confidence.

I think its possible (although I have no direct experience) with the QFP
100 because it is still a 0.5mm pitch unlike the 128TQFP types where it
moves down to a 0.4mm pitch, those are really tricky and having a fine stop
mask in between makes the soldering much easier than on a non masked DIY
PCB.

regards
Al

Thank you very much Alan.

To be quite honest, I have since discovered that I had made a mistake, I created the library QFP 100 with the pads just very slightly too wide, I have previously etched 0.5 centers for a camera connector and now I have corrected my foolish mistake, it may be possible.

Sometimes in these situations, you just need to talk to someone.

For pics and progress, see here:
[Wifi Cam - Stage 1][1]
[1]: http://trevmhomers.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/23022015-wifi-cam-stage-1-moved-into.html

1 Like

I just did my first 0.5mm board yesterday and I’d say “yes, it’s possible”. Unfortunately mine didn’t turn out perfect - I changed some of my process around a bit and it was a little underexposed. I also has the ground pour isolation a little too tight at 0.005".

The components are 48LQFP, 32QFN and 0805 passives. It might be salvageable.

Mine was a total s***w up :frowning:

It is possibly over stretching my skills, I want an ST ARM processor (100 pin 0.05 mm pitch LQFP) attached to: 2MP camera (25 pin 0.05 mm pitch), SD Card, ST-Link interface, Serial interface, Wifi (ESP8266) interface. All 0805 caps and resistors except the SMD electrolytics. I thought I could get away with solder vias under the MCU, which I discovered was really wrong.
That layout took me a week, now starting from scratch.

I’m using Eagle PCB layout package, what are you using?