Homebrew 5L mini Keg

So I have been homebrewing for a few years now, and I’ve started a little project that thought I would share it here in case anyone who is getting into homebrewing, or wants to, might save some time and money by skipping some of the purchases I have made and things I’ve done.

I’ll be posting this in parts for my own sanity, but also so that it is easy to skip parts you aren’t interested in/already know… because I ramble!

The “problem” - As if beer was ever a problem…

So far I have used mostly glass bottles for storage and serving, but I also have in my arsenal, a large 5gallon plastic pressure barrel, and a small plastic bottle keg system (Tap-A-Daft).

image image

I would love to use bottles less, and the kegs more, but all three have their pros and cons and the cons of the kegs slightly outweigh the cons of the bottles:

Bottle Pros: Easy to transport, easy to refrigerate, great for preserving quality (beer is well protected from oxygen and so on) and unopened bottles remain protected, a cheap solution (initial outlay of enough bottles for a 5gallon batch costs under £25, and the caps to go on the top are around 50p per batch), and easy to replace (if a single bottle breaks it’s not a big deal), can mix-and-match bottles for batches, and easily take a variety of homebrews to parties

Bottle Cons: VERY time consuming and awkward to fill, take up a lot of storage space

5gal Keg Pros: VERY easy and quick to fill, takes up a small amount of space