3D terrain printing

Hi everyone,

I came across this makerspace quite recently when looking for a 3D printing community… While I’m completely new to the subject I’ve been along to a few open evenings in the last few weeks to enquire about printing a high resolution 3D model of terrain generated from satellite stereo imagery. If anyone’s done a project of a similar nature before I’d be very interested to hear more.

Aside from this 3D printing I’ve dabbled in other projects, most recently using my raspberry pi to create a ‘weasley clock’ and ‘magic mirror’. I’m looking forward to seeing other people’s projects!

Unfortunately I can’t make the opening evening tonight but hopefully I’ll be around on Friday.

Cheers

Sam

I’ve done a fair bit of 3D printing (i3 clone and Tornado) of household items and found that slopes always expose the layers of a print. So I wonder if a CNC machine with a ball-nose router bit wouldn’t be a better tool? Potentially also larger machines?
Do you already have a printer?

Summary

This text will be hidden

The 3d printing group is (probably more accurately “was” as it is pretty much dormant now) TVRRUG - Thames Valley RepRap User Group. Many SHM members are also TVRRUG members and unless it has been upgraded beyond all recognition, I believe that the 3d printer at SHM is a TVRRUG Prusa.

The development of many hackspaces across the region means that 3d printer knowledge and support is available much more locally these days and I would say that is definitely the case at SHM.

The TVRRUG Google Group is a large, although mostly inaccessible trove of knowledge.

Have a look at https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/tvreprapug/EOPBcjttilI from 2012.

Regards,
Malcolm

Hi Chris,

Many thanks for your reply - I do not have a printer which is why I’m keen to give the ones in the makerspace a go.